Dunne and Moloney are League Winners

By June 28, 2011 Club News, Race Reports

They battled through wind, rain, occasional sunshine and more wind for six cycle races with the final event timed to coincide with Bike Week 2011. With competitors from Counties Tipperary, Waterford and Kilkenny, 38 young boys and girls gave their all each week in the Ó Ceallacháins League.

 Our final one lap was won by the rider with the fastest time most weeks Niamh O’ Loughlin, followed by Luke Dunne and Roisín Dunphy. Katie Fleming, Sam Hartley and Thomas Parle were next home. The three lap race was won by Clonmel’s Conal Conroy with his younger brother Jack getting the better of Elizabeth Moloney in an epic sprint. Sean Hahessy worked his way through the field to finish fourth, ahead of James O’ Hanlon and Kyle Crotty.

Cycling Ireland President Rory Wyley travelled to Faugheen to help compute the points. The gathered competitors, parents and supporters enjoyed refreshments provided by our sponsors Ó Ceallacháins before the results were announced. Our one lap race league winner for 2011 was Luke Dunne, who had two points to spare over Niamh O’ Loughlin and Katie Fleming, with O’ Loughlin awarded second place on countback. Thomas Parle, Aisling McCarthy and Roisín Dunphy completed the top six.

Elizabeth Moloney was crowned as our first female overall winner of the three lap event. With Portlaw cyclists Kyle Crotty and Aaron Kearney second and third. Jack Conroy was fourth, ahead of Kilsheelan’s Killian McHale, with Corey Kelly sixth overall. Sponsors Brian and Neil O’ Callaghan presented 38 trophies and two perpetual cups on the night, for which we are very grateful.

Carrick Wheelers would like to thank all of the stewards, lead car drivers and parents for their presence each week. Many thanks to the South Tipperary Sports Partnership, South Tipperary County Council and our sponsors Ó Ceallachains.

We will continue with training spins for those young cyclists who have racing bikes and are capable of cycling for one hour. These will leave from St. Mollerans GAA Club car park at 7pm on Monday 27th June and Monday 4th July.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.