60th Carrick Wheelers Club AGM

By November 28, 2014 Uncategorized

A huge turnout gathered for the clubs 60th AGM. Such was the turnout, extra seating had to be brought in to accommodate the crowd. Details for the 2015 season were outlined, most of which will be finalised in another meeting before Christmas. Also worth mentioning is the fact that we had so many new young members. So far, we have 5 riders looking for placings on a 4-man team for the prospective Junior Tour of Ireland, excluding any juniors who rode it last year. This is a really good sign for the club for the future.

Committee for 2015:

Chairman: John Dempsey

Vice Chairman: Lesley O’Donnell

Secretary: Paul Lonergan

Treasurer: Larry Power

PRO: Sean Hahessy

Child Protection Officer: Ray Cullen

Club Coach: Rory Wyley

Chief Steward: Bobby Sheehan

Chief Judge: Billy Kennedy

Webmaster: Karen Edwards

Facebook Co-ordinator: Barry Lonergan


Martin O’Loughlin

Eddie Keogh

Joe Cashin

John Kinsella

Joe Hahessy

Joe Kearney

Gerry Hawkins

Hugh Mulhearne

Andrew Aherne

Vinny Maher

Graham Loughman

Jamie Blanchfield

Gavin Pyke

After the AGM’s business was sorted through, the annual Club Awards were presented as follows;

Junior Sportstar of the Year:


Club Treasurer Larry Power presenting Jamie Blanchfield with his Award for Junior Sportstar of the Year.

Under-age Sportstars of the Year:


With respect to the efforts all 3 riders made in the National Championships, winning the team prize, all 3 riders were presented with Under-age Sportstar Awards. L-R: John Dempsey (Chairman), Cathal Purcell, Ruarí Dunne, Aaron Kearney and Billy Kennedy.

Senior Sportstar of the Year:


Club Persons of the Year:


Rory Wyley presenting Billy Kennedy with his Club Person of the Year Award




L-R: Larry Power (Club Treasurer), John Dempsey (Chairman), Leslie O’Donnell, John Kinsella (Club Person of the Year), Paul Lonergan (Secretary)





Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.