Club Awards Dinner 2008

By December 4, 2008 Club News


Ó Ceallacháin’s was the venue for our annual club dinner on Saturday 29th of November. 45 club members sat down to a beautiful dinner followed by the presentation of our annual awards. Bobby Power and Paul Lonergan presented the sports awards:

Underage Sports Star of the Year: Michael O’ Loughlin

Special Team Award: Our double All-Ireland winning vets team of Sean McIlroy, Leslie O’ Donnell, Martin O’ Loughlin and Rory Wyley.

Special Individual Award: Martin O’ Loughlin, All-Ireland Vets Road Race and Time Trial champion.

Sports Star of the Year: Sam Bennett, European Junior Points Race Champion, All-Ireland Junior Road Race Champion, Winner of the Junior Tour of Ireland.

Club Chairman Martin O’ Loughlin presented the Clubman of the Year award to Leslie O’ Donnell in recognition of all of the work he does for the club and his winning of an All-Ireland Vets Road Race team medal for the fifth consecutive year.

The winner of the Merit Award was announced as Pat Murphy, who was absent on the night due to illness. Pat promotes cycling and our club at every opportunity on Tipp FM, and is a permanent fixture as a motorcycle marshall on race days, including our underage league races in Faugheen. This year, Pat played a huge role in the success of Sam Bennett by taking him motor pacing on Saturday evenings during his Leaving Cert. This ensured that Sam maintained his fitness at this crucial time.

The final presentation of the night was made by Rory Wyley, albeit a week late, wearing his hat as Honorary Treasurer and Vice-President of Cycling Ireland. Rory presented Sam Bennett with his gold medal from the All-Ireland Junior Road Race Championships in Midleton.

6 images in the gallery: