Tommy Sheehan Memorial – 2013

By June 30, 2013 Uncategorized

Dublin rider Stephen Halpin form the Polygon team notched another victory in Carrick on Suir today landing the Tommy Sheehan Memorial sponsored by SRAM. A former winner of the Carrick Cup, the traditional St. Patricks Day race run by the Carrick Wheelers, which is run on the same circuit as was used in this years Tommy Sheehan Memorial – and being familiar with the course, Halpin took flight early on dragging with him, Olan Barrett of the Aquablue team as well as Tipperary Wheelers man, Dermot Radford. Behind the chase was getting organised – newly crowned Vets Road Race Champion Hugh Mulhearne was forcing the pace along with Planet Tri leader Eddie Barry. The gap never came back down under one minute however and at the finish, Halpin had too much power for Radford and took the main prize, generously sponsored by SRAM. Radford hung on for 2nd with Mulhearne rounding out the podium in 3rd.

In the A3 race, a good sized field of 60 took part in the 100km event. Attacks went from the gun, Ian Redmond of Fermoy CC led the bunch over the top of Glenbower on the first occasion with a slight gap to the main field however the bunch were not too happy to give him much freedom and he was soon re-captured. Next it was Iverk Carrick Wheeler Michael O’Loughlin who tried his luck. He gained a sizable lead but again not given the freedom of the day. So to a bunch finish on John’s Hill and it was looking like O’Loughlin would take out his maiden Senior win but was denied on the line by a fast finishing Stephen McGrath of Fermoy CC.

In the days other senior race, the A4 bunch numbered over 80 strong and they didn’t hang about when the flag was dropped. Following 40 miles of flat out racing local man Conor Henebery of the promotion club Iverk Carrick Wheelers won the dash to the line just ahead of Shane Long of Burren Cycling Club. The Under16 category also tackled the Glenbower circuit. The Limerick man Steven Yelverton proved the fastest with Seamus Sinnott of Wexford Wheelers pushing him all the way.

The prizes were presented by Eoin O’Regan of the event sponsors SRAM, who the Carrick Wheelers would like to offer our deep gratitude to – their generosity makes it much easier for the club to run events through out the year. We would also like to thank club sponsor Iverk Produce, the Civil Defence, all the sponsors and all the volunteers that gave their time and effort to ensure the safe running of the race.

  • A1/A2
  • 1. Stephen Halpin – Polygon
  • 2. Dermot Radford – Tipperary Wheelers
  • 3. Hugh Mulhearne – Iverk Carrick Wheelers
  • 4. Eddie Barry – Planet Tri
  • 5. Richie Hooten – Visit Nenagh
  • 6. Olan Barrett – Aquablue
  • 7. Martin Mizgajski – Iverk Carrick Wheelers
  • 8. Robin Kelly – Aquablue
  • A3
  • 1. Stephen McGrath – Fermoy CC
  • 2. Michael O’Loughlin – Iverk Carrick Wheelers
  • 3. Anthony Harper – Wexford Wheelers
  • 4. Dermot Gough – Dungarvan CC
  • 5. Pat O’Brien – Galtee Wheelers
  • 6. Enda Donnelly – Dungarvan CC
  • 7. Ray Dywer – Dungarvan CC
  • 8. Hugh McMahon – DID Dunboyne
  • A4
  • 1. Conor Henebery – Iverk Carrick Wheelers
  • 2. Shane Long – Burren CC
  • 3. James Murphy – Deenside CC
  • 4. Richard Quinn – Shannon CC
  • 5. Derek Ryan – Offaly CC
  • 6. Nigel Allen – Wexford Wheelers
  • 7. Tom Hanrahan – Bandon CC
  • 8. Martin Nolan – Fermoy CC
  • 1st Lady – Emma Walsh – Dungarvan CC
  • U16
  • 1. Steven Yelverton – Limerick CC
  • 2. Seamus Sinnot – Wexford Wheelers
  • 3. Aaron Kearney – Iverk Carrick Wheelers
  • 4. Rurui Dunne – Iverk Carrick Wheelers
  • 5. Adam Thatcher – Slaney CC
  • 6. Conn McDunphy – Inspiration Dunboyne


    Photo courtesy of Joe Cashin

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.